Find a Chiropractic Acupuncturist Near You Today
2019 Annual Symposium
Midwest Annual Acupuncture Symposium Sponsored by the CCA
Follow us on Facebook
Slider

State Requirements For Chiropractic Acupuncture

***Please consult the individual state licensing board for details on state requirements.***

Skip to States that do not allow Chiropractic Acupuncture

  • Alabama

    100 hours + NBCE exam

  • Alaska

    300 hours

  • Arizona

    100 hours

  • Arkansas

    100 hours

  • California

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Colorado

    100 hours

  • Connecticut

    No additional training. Can do under chiro license (100 – 300)

  • Delaware

    100 hours

  • Florida

    100 hours + NBCE exam

  • Georgia

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Hawaii

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Idaho

    200 hours for Acupuncture Certification. Certification is given by the Acupuncture Board

  • Illinois

    100 hours

  • Indiana

    200 hours

  • Iowa

    100 hours

  • Kansas

    Already under Chiropractor’s Scope of Practice

  • Kentucky

    Chiropractors are NOT allowed to do under their licenses. Licensed under Medical Board

  • Louisiana

    Separate Acupuncture License. Dry Needling accepted with 60 hours of instruction

  • Maine

    200 hours

  • Maryland

    “Dry Needling” okay.

  • Massachusetts

    Can do with “certification”.

  • Michigan

    Currently working on an acupuncture law.

  • Minnesota

    100 hours + NBCE exam

  • Missouri

    100 hours + NBCE exam

  • Mississippi

    Separate Acupuncture License (MDs need 200 hours)

  • Montana

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Nebraska

    100 hours

  • New Hampshire

    Okay under chiropractic license to do “dry needling” as an adjunct.

  • New Mexico

    Okay to do “meridian therapy”; but can’t classify yourself as an “acupuncturist”.

  • New Jersey

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • New York

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Nevada

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • North Carolina

    200 hours

  • North Dakota

    100 hours

  • Ohio

    300 hours

  • Oklahoma

    100 hours

  • Oregon

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Pennsylvania

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Rhode Island

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • South Carolina

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • South Dakota

    100 hours + NBCE exam

  • Tennessee

    300 hours + NBCE exam

  • Texas

    100 hours

  • Utah

    “Complete an approved course” 100 hours

  • Virginia

    200 hours

  • Vermont

    300 hours

  • Washington

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Washington D.C.

    250 hours + NBCE exam

  • West Virginia

    100 hours + NBCE exam or IAMA or equivalent certificate.

  • Wisconsin

    Separate Acupuncture License

  • Wyoming

    100 hours + NBCE exam

16 States That Do Not Allow Chiropractic Acupuncture

  • California
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Nevada
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
Scroll to Top